The small town of Woodbridge - population approx. 300 - is located some 38Km south of Hobart, Tasmania's State capital.
The settlement is located around the shores of Peppermint Bay in the D'Entrecasteaux Channel and extends into the surrounding hillsides.
The Channel now bearing his name - which separates Bruny Island from the 'Tasmanian mainland' - was initially explored by Bruni D'Entrecasteaux in 1792.
The original settlement, and the bay around which it developed, were initially named after the abundant peppermint gums which extended right down to the water's edge.
As the village developed it was renamed Woodbridge in 1866 by the residents - after Mr Miles' property.
Initial communication with Hobart was by bush track or by boat up the Channel and into the Derwent River.
The maintenance of the unique characteristics of the present township are jealously guarded by local residents.
For a listing of local organisation electronic contact details click HERE.